King's Alumni recognised in the 2016 New Year's Honours list

David Cowan

King’s is delighted to announce that a number of King’s Alumni have been recognised in the 2016 New Year’s Honours list. Alumni from across the university have been honoured for their services to a diverse range of fields including health care, charitable services and education. 

Professor David Cowan (Pharmacy, 1964) Professor of Pharmaceutical Toxicology and Director of the Drug Control Centre at King's, has received an OBE for his services to anti-doping science. Professor Cowan co-founded the Drug Control Centre in 1978, and became its Director in 1990. He has served on a number of national and international committees including the Council of Europe Working Party investigating Drug Abuse in Sport that led to the first World Anti-Doping Convention. Professor Cowan was a founding member of the World Association of Anti-Doping Scientists and became its first President serving on its executive board between 2001 and 2004. In 2013, he received the Pharmaceutical Scientist of the Year Award from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society for his outstanding contribution to pharmaceutical science in leading the anti-doping project for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Professor Til Wykes (Psychiatry, 1985), Vice-Dean of Psychology and Systems Science and Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation, has been awarded a damehood for services to Clinical Psychology. Dame Wykes founded and is Co-Director of the King’s Service user Research Enterprise (SURE), and was the founding director of the Mental Health Research Network.

Full list of honoured Alumni 

Dr Nisreen Booya (Medicine, 1979), MBE for services to mental health
Dr Timothy Brooks, (Medicine, 1980) CBE for services to public health
Mr Gregory Cook, (History, 1984) MBE for political service
Professor David Cowan, (Pharmacy 1964), OBE for services to anti- doping Science
Mr Edward Davis, OBE, (Late Antique and Byzantine Studies, 1994) OBE for services to the Ebola Crisis Response in West Africa
Wing Commander Martin Doel, (War Studies, 1998), CBE for services to higher education
Mr Leslie East, (Music Mmus, 1970) OBE for services to musical education
Miss Jacqueline Golding, (Theology and Religious Studies, 1991) CBE for entrepreneurship, women in business and social enterprise
Mr Andrew Haines, AKC, (History, 1985), OBE for services to transport
Mr Richard Ladd-Jones, (Defence Studies, 2004) OBE for services in support of defence policy
Dr Patricia Mucavele, (Nutrition and Diabetes, 1992) OBE for services to children, families and charity
Mr Daniel Peltz, (History, 1982) OBE for philanthropic and charitable services
Dr Oliver Shanley, (Mental Health Studies, 1999) OBE for services to mental health nursing
Mr Peter Sunderland, (Physiology, 1977) MBE for voluntary service to the Yorkshire Air Ambulance
Professor Dame Til Wykes, (Psychiatry, 1985) DBE for services to clinical psychology

Congratulations to all our Alumni recognised in the 2016 New Year’s Honours list.

Article posted: January, 2016