Kings College London

Alumni recognised in 2014 New Year's Honours

Kings alumni and staff recognised in 2014 New Years Honours listKing’s staff and alumni have been recognised in the 2014 New Year’s Honours list. The Rt Hon Sir Christopher Geidt, KCVO, OBE is an alumnus and Fellow of King’s College London and has been appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath (KCB) for public service. Sir Christopher is private secretary to the Queen and a Member of the Privy Council.

Since his appointment as Private Secretary to the Sovereign in 2007, Sir Christopher has brought a new approach to constitutional matters, the preparation for transition to a change of Reign and relations with the Commonwealth as the main channel of communication between the Queen and the Government. He has also overseen a unique agenda of Royal and National events.

Professor Stephen Scott, Director of the National Academy for Parenting Research and Professor of Child Health and Behaviour at the Institute of Psychiatry, was awarded a CBE for services to families. Professor Scott’s research has focused on the improvement of parenting in order to enhance child outcomes. Professor Scott is Director of the National Adoption and Fostering Team and of the National Conduct Problems Team at Maudsley Hospital.

Linda Dolores Cardozo, Professor of Urogynaecology in the department of Women’s Health and Consultant Gynaecologist at King’s College Hospital, has been awarded an OBE for services to Urogynaecology and Women's Health. Professor Cardozo was Founding Chairman of the British Society of Urogynaecology and has held various other senior positions including Chairman of the British Menopause Society and the Education Committee of the International Continence Society. She is currently Co-Chairman of the World Health Organisation International Consultation on Incontinence.

Ken Applebee, Director of Biological Services, has received an OBE for services to Animal Technician Education and Animal Technology. Ken is chairman of the Council of the Institute for Animal Technology and a member of the Council of Understanding Animal Research and the Animals in Science Committee which provides advice to the Government on animal research.

Professor Peter Sonksen, Emeritus Professor of Endocrinology, was awarded an OBE for services to anti-doping in sports. Professor Sonksen was a member of the International Olympic Committee and its Medical Sub-Commission on ‘Doping and Biochemistry in Sport’ (1993–2003) and has also been involved in developing a test for the detection of Growth Hormone abuse in sport.

Dr Robin Eady, Emeritus Professor of Dermatology at the St John’s Institute of Dermatology, has been awarded an MBE for services to dermatology and voluntary service to governance in the charitable sector.

The following King's alumni have also received honours in the 2014 list:

Knights Bachelor

  • Sir Mark Worthington KT (History, 1982), for public service.

Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath

  • Rt Hon Sir Christopher Geidt KCB KCVO OBE FKC (War Studies), for public service.
  • Sir Keir Starmer KCB (European Community Competition Law, 1996), for services to law and criminal justice.
  • Air Marshal Sir Stephen J Hillier KCB DFC (1998).

Companion of the Order of the Bath

  • Air Vice-Marshal Lindsay Irvine CB (International Studies, 2007).

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire

  • Dame Rachel M De Souza DBE (1998), for services to Education.
  • Professor Dame Celia Hoyles DBE (Education, 1973), for services to Education.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire

  • Group Captain Steven R Thornber CBE (Defence Studies, 2003).
  • Group Captain Ian S Pollitt CBE (Defence Studies, 1999).
  • Professor Stephen B C Scott CBE (Psychiatry, 2000), for services to families.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire

  • Lieutenant-Colonel Richard J Cantrill OBE MC (Defence Studies, 2012).
  • Professor Peter H Sonksen OBE MD FRCP MBBS Lond (Medicine), for service to Anti-Doping in Sports.
  • Wing Commander Roger L Morgan OBE (Defence Studies, 2011).
  • Group Captain Simon J Spence OBE (Defence Studies, 2001).
  • Ms Maxine Penlington OBE (German, 1976), for services to Higher Education.

Member of the Order of the British Empire

  • Professor Robin A J Eady MBE DSc FRCP FMedSci (Medicine, 1967), for services to Dermatology and voluntary service to Governance in the Charitable Sector.
  • Mr Geoffrey Williams MBE (German, 1969), for services to Local Government.
  • Dr Robert A F Linton MBE MD LOND FFA RCS MB BS MRCS LRCP (Medicine, 1968), for services to Medicine and to Defence.
  • Mr John N Fogg MBE (Theology & Religious Studies), for services to the Marlborough International Jazz Festival and to the community in Marlborough, Wiltshire.
  • Commander Eleanor Ablett MBE (Defence Studies, 2010).
  • Dr Anna-Maria Rollin MBE (Medicine, 1970), for services to Anaesthesia.
  • Mr John L Savage MBE (Mathematics, 1956), for services to DWP Estates and the Scout Association.
  • Mrs Marianne J Overton MBE (Zoology, 1980), for services to Local Government.

Find out which alumni and staff were honoured in the 2013 New Year's Honours.




Sitemap Site help Privacy statement Terms and conditions Accessibility Recruitment News Centre Contact us

© 2019 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454